Twitter Chat #2

For my second twitter chat, I participated in the #1stchat for 1st grade teachers on Sunday, September 25th, at 8 P.M. I selected this chat because once I am done here at Albright, I will be certified in grade levels Pre-K to 4th grade. I thought it would be beneficial to me to chat with current first grade teachers around the country and see their ideas and hopefully learn a few things from them.

 

In my opinion, this chat was much different than the chat I previously participated. In the other chat, (#edtechchat) many people were having separate conversations alongside of the mediator of the chat asking questions to everyone in the chat. There were so many helpful links that were posted in that chat both from separate conversations and group conversations. I think that the reason why there were so many useful links was because the topic of the chat was educational technology.

This twitter chat ran similarly to how the #edtechchat ran. There was one person moderating the chat, tweeting questions and waiting for the participants to respond. Aviva Dunsiger (@avivaloca) was the moderator. In my opinion, the topic discussed in the chat wasn’t really specific to 1st grade, but rather talked about how to assist students of any age. The chat was centered on self-regulation and re-framing behavior.

I have mixed feelings about how this chat went. I did like the topic and the questions asked and the answers received. It was nice seeing how current 1st grade teachers help students self-regulate and handle situations where students misbehave. On the other hand, it was more difficult for me to respond and participate with no background knowledge or experience. I have worked with children before and have been there when they have acted out but as a student teacher or teacher assistant, I am not the one who addresses these behaviors or work with the child on a daily basis. I felt this chat was much more difficult for me to partake in compared to my previous chat.

The responses that I found or replied to did not actually include links. This chat, compared to the last, was more on personal experiences in the classroom and did not center so much on media/sites. One of the links that was posted by Leka Degroot (@lekadegroot) at the end of the chat was used as a follow up of the chat. The link was an article helping readers to figure out if a child is misbehaving or stress-behaving. I found the article to be quite helpful and plan to dijo it for when I am a teacher. The site is a good resource for teachers who may be facing some difficulties with the behavior of their students. http://bit.ly/2dkFxEM

 

Sadly, that was the only link I came across in the twitter chat.

 

The five people I chose to follow were all people who participated in the chat. I followed Aviva Dunsinger, the moderator of the chat and someone I interacted with in the chat. I fowlled Christine Yarzabek (@CYarzy) because she is the creator of #1stchat. I also followed the woman who posted the follow up link, Leka DeGroot (@lekadegoot) and Applebaum Training (@atiseminars). The fifth person I followed is a woman named Valerie Ruckes (@valruckes). Valarie was assisting the moderator of the chat by retweeting his questions and by tweeting them herself as well as her responses.

 

Overall, I prefer #edtechchat because I feel I got more out of that chat with links and other ideas for this course as well as for when I am in my own classroom.

 

Here are some pictures of my chat!

Displaying IMG_0388.PNG

Displaying IMG_0389.PNG

Displaying IMG_0390.PNG

Displaying IMG_0391.PNG

Displaying IMG_0392.PNG

Displaying IMG_0393.PNG

Displaying IMG_0394.PNG

Displaying IMG_0395.PNG

Displaying IMG_0396.PNG

 

Leave a Reply

